A little bit about me… That’s not me, that’s Fergus.

A little bit about me... That's not me, that's Fergus.

Hi all,
My name is Jacquie and I live in Calgary. I am a clinical nurse educator and work in critical care. My husband, Ian, is the most fantastic person I know and keeps me afloat when I feel like I’m drowning in work, volunteering and school. I don’t have kids; just a ridiculously cute dog, Fergus. He is full of personality and keeps us thoroughly entertained. I also volunteer as the Southern Alberta chapter secretary for the Canadian Association of Critical Care Nurses and I have the privilege (and terror) of speaking at the CACCN National Conference this month in Halifax!

I’m very excited to be starting off this course in such an interesting way! I have always wanted to blog but recently haven’t had the time to figure it out. What an amazing convergence when the wants and the needs in your life intersect.

My professional background is within healthcare, although whatever work I do, I find myself consistently being drawn to education. I entered into graduate studies with the intention of teaching inside academic institutions. I think this is because of my perception of education and teaching was limited to what I was exposed to. Fortunately for me, as have I progressed through my graduate studies I have been surrounded with others who have diverse experiences and work environments. My eyes have been opened to some very interesting opportunities which to consider in my future career.

I’ve already got more out of this program than I expected to and I’m very excited to share this experience with all of you. What I hope to get out of this course, specifically, is a broader understanding of the impact of online learning. I’m especially intrigued by social media and how it can be used successfully in employee engagement and education.

Happy blogging everybody!

Leave a comment